Cross-Compiling OSQP for ARM STM32F405

Hello,

I am working on a project that involves solving QP problems onboard a Crazyflie2.1 STM32F405 computing unit. I was drawn to OSQP since it seems embeddable. Can OSQP be compiled for this architecture?

I am not an expert in embedded programming, but looking around I got to the point of attempting to link the static library libosqp.a with the Crazyflie Firmware project. In this process I realized that I had built the libosqp.a file based on my native Linux x86 architecture and therefore the cross compiler for Crazyflie (arm-none-eabi-gcc) could not link libosqp.a with the rest of the Crazyflie project. The compilation error was
bin/libosqp.a: error adding symbols: file format not recognized collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status

Next, I tried to cross-compile libosqp.a with the correct architecture (ARM STM32) using the cross compiler arm-none-eabi-gcc. I attempted to do this by adding the following lines at the beginning of the CMakeLists.txt file in the root directory of the osqp project.

#---------------------------------------------
# TODO CROSS COMPILE
set(CMAKE_SYSTEM_NAME Generic) # 'Generic' is used for embedded systems

set(CMAKE_C_COMPILER /usr/bin/arm-none-eabi-gcc)
set(CMAKE_CXX_COMPILER /usr/bin/arm-none-eabi-g++)
set(CMAKE_ASM_COMPILER /usr/bin/arm-none-eabi-gcc)

# tells CMake not to try to link executables during its interal checks
# things are not going to link properly without a linker script
set(CMAKE_TRY_COMPILE_TARGET_TYPE STATIC_LIBRARY)

set(CMAKE_OBJCOPY /usr/bin/arm-none-eabi-objcopy)
set(CMAKE_OBJDUMP /usr/bin/arm-none-eabi-objdump)
set(CMAKE_SIZE /usr/bin/arm-none-eabi-size)
set(CMAKE_DEBUGGER /usr/bin/arm-none-eabi-gdb)
set(CMAKE_DEBUGGER /usr/bin/arm-none-eabi-gdb)
set(CMAKE_CPPFILT /usr/bin/arm-none-eabi-c++filt)

#--------------------------------------------

# Minimum version required
cmake_minimum_required (VERSION 3.2)

# Project name
project (osqp)